The Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum and Warner Music Nashville would like to extend special thanks and acknowledgment to Cleve Francis and Nelson Wilson for their role in inspiring and urging on this project, and to this project’s original oversight committee, convened in 1997: Horace Boyer, Thomas Cain, Cleve Francis, Sus’n Garmony, Gail Hamilton, Richard Helm, Vanessa Hill, and Chairman Kevin Lavender.

Album compilation and booklet

Special thanks to: Ben Kline, Cris Lacy, Patrick Sabatini, Tim Foisset, Mike Dupree, Clark Tedesco, and everyone at Warner Music Nashville for their passion, guidance, and contributions to this project.

Compilation Produced and Programmed by: The staff of the Country Music Hall of Fame® and Museum / Discs 1-3 (1998) produced by Daniel Cooper, Disc 4 (2024) produced by Michael Gray.
Executive Project Director: Kyle Young
Audio Restoration Engineer and Disc Transfer: Alan Stoker
Remix Engineer (“A Lesson in Leavin’”): Chris Fleming
Audio Mastering: Andrew Mendelson at Georgetown Masters (Nashville, TN)
Book Editor: Paul Kingsbury
Photo Research: Adam Iddings, Denise Jarvis
Quilt Art Images: Gee’s Bend Quiltmakers Loretta Pettway Bennett, Martha Jane Pettway, Lottie Mooney, Arcola Pettway (quilt photos by Stephen Pitkin/Pitkin Studio, courtesy of Souls Grown Deep Foundation)
Title Type Design: David Jon Walker/Rhealistic Design
Creative Director: Warren Denney
Book Design: Jeff Stamper
Photography: Archie E. Allen, Erin Lee Allender, Austin American-Statesman, Capitol Records, Capricorn Records, Fantasy Inc., Jim Chappelle (courtesy of Frank Driggs), Chris Charles, Emma Delevante, William P. Gottlieb, Austin Hargrave, Doc “The Hitman” Holiday, Donn Jones, Tom Joynt, J. B. LeCroy, Les Leverett, Amanda López, Alan Mayor, Ron McKeown/Music City News, Mercury Records, Beverly Parker, Don Putnam, Frederick Ramsey Jr., Julie Roberts, David Roth, Raeanne Rubenstein, Jeff Sedlik, Douglas Seitsinger, Jim Shea, Showtime Music Inc., Amiee Stubbs, Sun Entertainment Corp., Larry Taylor, J. Frank West, Dennis Wile, Crystal Wright.
Music Licensing: Maryam Battaglia, The Rights Workshop

Thanks to: Big Al Downing, Stoney Edwards, Cleve Francis, Dobie Gray, Al Green, Bobby Hebb, Linda Martell, Charley Pride, Mavis Staples, and Barrence Whitfield for interview material; Paula Batson; Dan Blair; Dave Booth/Showtime Music Archive; Amy Brown/Southern Folklife Collection; Steven Brown/The Cameron Organization Inc.; Steven Calt; Bob Carlin; Center for Black Music Research; Dallas Public Library; Bill Davis; Frank Driggs; Bill Ferris/The Center for Southern Culture; Geffen Records; Stefan Grossman; Danny Harp; Margie Hunt; Bob Kempf; Kevin Kennedy; Edward Komara/The Blues Archive; Rich Nevins; Jim Ed Norman; Jas Obrecht; Ocean Music; Robert K. Oermann; Doug Seroff; Sirius Entertainment; Chris Smith; Michael Stewart; Marvin H. Slone; Marcos Suerico; Texas Music Hall of Fame and Museum; Kathy Montgomery-Smith; Scott Browning/Souls Grown Deep Foundation; Celene Aubrey, Heather Moulder/Hatch Show Print; Janet Hicks/Artists Rights Society.

Much of the information about LaMelle Prince was derived from a short biography written by A. David Burleigh.

Online Experience

Website design: The Museum’s marketing, creative, and web team, including Bob Heinemann, Adam Carro, Warren Denny, Bret Pelizzari, Sydney Gilbert, and LifeBlue Digital Agency.

Archival content: Courtesy of the Museum’s Frist Library and Archive and compiled by Kathleen Campbell, Shepherd Alligood, Meg Monroe, and Chris Fleming.

Public programs: Facilitated and produced by Aimee Graham, Emily Fine, Kayleigh Shoemaker, and Abi Tapia, and filmed and edited by Warren Denney, Michael Manning, and VIP Productions.

Resources for educators: Created by the Museum’s education team, including Katherine Palmer, Leia Buchanan, and Renee McBride.



Visit the museum’s website for the latest news related to the project.