Public Programs

The Louise Scruggs Memorial Forum

Fifteenth Louise Scruggs Memorial Forum Honoring Lorianne Crook

The Louise Scruggs Memorial Forum honors music industry leaders who continue Scruggs’s legacy as a formidable businesswoman who set new professional standards in artist management. This year’s ceremony honors Lorianne Crook.

Lorianne Crook is a television and radio host, producer, and writer, as well as the president of Jim Owens Entertainment, Inc. Since 1983, she and Charlie Chase have co-hosted several different country music news television shows, specials, and award shows, as well as the long-running radio show The Crook and Chase Countdown. Crook is a member of the Country Radio Hall of Fame, a recipient of the Grand Ole Opry’s Bob Kingsley Living Legend Award, and has received numerous Academy of Country Music awards and Country Music Association awards.

Join the Museum in celebrating Crook and her contributions to country music on August 15 at 6:30 PM—this event, supported by Gibson Gives, is free and open to the public, but tickets are required.

Program Supported by Gibson Gives

Gibson Gives

The Louise Scruggs Memorial Forum, made possible by Gibson Gives and presented for the first time in 2007, was created to honor a music industry leader who represents the legacy of pioneer Louise Scruggs. Her understanding of music and musical trends, coupled with her formidable business acumen, allowed her to steer her husband Earl Scruggs’s career toward ever-widening audiences. In 1955, she began booking and managing the Flatt & Scruggs show, and she continued to guide her husband’s career until her passing in February 2006. As the first woman in country music to assume these roles, she set new standards for the industry. ​

Watch Interviews with Past Honorees

Louise Scruggs Memorial Forum Include:

  • Lorianne Crook (2023)
  • Kay West (2022)
  • Bev Paul (2020)
  • Bebe Evans and Marcie Allen Van Mol (2019)
  • Cindy Mabe (2018)
  • Traci Thomas (2017)
  • Dixie Hall (2015)
  • Jo Walker-Meador (2014)
  • Kay Clary (2013)
  • Nancy Shapiro (2012)
  • Sarah Trahern (2011)
  • Bonnie Garner (2010)
  • Mary Martin (2009)
  • Liz Theils (2008)
  • Denise Stiff (2007)

We use cookies in the following ways: (1) for system administration, (2) to assess the performance of the website, (3) to personalize your experience, content and ads, (4) to provide social media features, and (5) to analyze our traffic. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website. Please consult instructions for your web browser to disable or block cookies, or to receive a warning before a cookie is stored on your computer or mobile device. Read our Privacy Policy.